Prelude – Skydiving from a dream

Including the live performance of
Beethoven Grosse Fugue
Plus extracts from
J. S. Bach The Art of Fugue
And preludes from
Lutosławski 13 Preludes and Fugue for Solo Strings


Following their 2015 collaboration Goldberg Variations – ternary patterns for insomnia, pioneering string orchestra Scottish Ensemble and Andersson Dance (led by choreographer Örjan Andersson) reprise their partnership in a new collaboration, Prelude – skydiving from a dream.

Musicians and dancers blur their roles and break the rules in this new co-production exploring the very human paradox at the root of three extraordinary pieces of music: our need to seek out order amongst disorder, and our urge to tear it all apart. From amongst the overwhelming precision of Bach’s Art of Fugue and the dark, wild chaos of Lutoslawski’s Preludes emerges a piece that has been both celebrated and derided, lauded and dismissed: Beethoven’s Grosse Fugue. Combining dynamic choreography from Andersson Dance with razor-sharp live performance from Scottish Ensemble, Prelude – skydiving from a dream delves into the delicious contradictions of the subconscious mind, from the absurd to the logical, the irrational to the soothingly clear.

Andersson Dance is an alternating constellation of artists in the field of dance collaborating with choreographer Örjan Andersson, based in Stockholm, Sweden. His engaging, playful and astute (re)interpretations offer a fresh and accessible perspective on some of music’s most rich and complex works. Audiences, both dance and classical, revel in his highly original explorations of sounds and structures.

Scottish Ensemble is a collective of outstanding string players that create new connections across boundaries of genre, form and place to make engaging, creative projects that inspire audiences across the world.

Choreography Örjan Andersson

Musical direction Jonathan Morton

Beethoven Grosse Fugue
plus excerpts from
J. S. Bach The Art of Fugue and Lutosławski Preludes and Fugue for 13 Solo Strings

Dancers Ida “Inxi” HolmlundClyde Emmanuel ArcherHokuto Kodama

Violin Jonathan Morton
Violin 1 Cheryl Crockett, Daniel Pioro, Kate Suthers
Violin 2 Clio Gould, Joanne Green, Laura Ghiro
Viola Jane Atkins, Andrew Berridge, Asher Zaccardelli
Cello Alison Lawrance, Naomi Pavri
Double bass Diane Clark

Set and light design
Tobias Hallgren & Örjan Andersson

Costume design
Bente Rolandsdotter

Andersson Dance, Scottish Ensemble & Nordberg Movement

Andersson Dance & Scottish Ensemble

Made possible with support from Creative Scotland, The Swedish Arts Council, Stockholm Stad, the Swedish Embassy in London, and organised in collaboration with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the Polska Music programme.